The Vanishing Woman / Escamotage d’une femme

Natascha Niederstrass’ photography and installations are steeped in the symbolic interrelationships she observes in visual culture and history. She constitutes narratives of phenomena marginalized by the dominant discourse, in the hopes of reclaiming a place for them in our perceptions of reality.

With The Vanishing Woman/Escamotage d’une femme, Niederstrass surveys the appearance of the female body in 19th century magic performances, casting a critical eye on this historical trope by drawing parallels with perceptions of women today. The once-frequent illusion, which featured magicians covering women with fabric or rugs to erase them from the stage, raises strong symbolic and even political considerations. For Niederstrass, the magic trick was a way to banish an unwelcome presence or make it invisible. The artist also draws an iconographic parallel with another Victorian phenomenon known as hidden mother photography, where women held their children in poses for the camera while hiding behind drapery, their silhouettes still partially discernable.

Niederstrass presents a new series created during her residency with VU. The artists allies photography and sculpture in a number of formal variations presented in a shadowy setting, alluding to the vanishing women scenarios so favoured by magicians. Fragmentary and enigmatic, the mysterious dark images suggest bodies lurking under folds of fabric. The variations on the motif invite viewers to reflect on the insidious violence inherent in mechanisms that render invisible or dehumanize the female body.

This body of work was presented in partnership with VU – Centre de diffusion et de production de la photographie, from February 19th to April 24th, 2022 as part of Manif d’art 10 : The Quebec City Biennial. Under the theme Illusions are Real, guest curator Steven Matijcio, director of the Blaffer Art Museum in Houston, Texas, questions the relationship between art and its mirages. Manif d’art 10 – The Quebec City Biennial is produced in collaboration with the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec.

Photo credit : Charles-Frédéric Ouellet, Vincent Drouin and Marc-Antoine Hallé

Untitled (Homage to Bautier de Kolta’s assistant)
Carpet, chair, veil, steel device, pedestal, 58″ W x 58.5″ H x 82″ D
Untitled (Concealed), Inkjet print on Hahnemühle paper, 32″ x 43″ (2021)
Complete series : Untitled (Disappearance 1 to 7), Inkjet print on Hahnemühle paper, 48″ x 36″ (2021)
Untitled (Levitation of a Lady), Hydrostone, transparent wire, playing card, black latex paint, 15″ W x 18″ H x 15″ D (2022)
Untitled (Reverse side of the pyramid), Inkjet print on Hahnemühle paper, 45″ x 34″ (2021)

The Vanishing Woman / Escamotage d’une femme

La production photographique et installative de Natascha Niederstrass est imprégnée des interrelations symboliques qu’elle décèle dans la culture visuelle et dans l’histoire. L’artiste crée des reconstitutions narratives de phénomènes qui auraient été marginalisés par les discours dominants, en vue de rétablir leur place dans nos perceptions du réel.

Avec The Vanishing Woman/Escamotage d’une femme, Niederstrass sonde les occurrences propres à la disparition du corps féminin dans les spectacles de magie du 19e siècle. Elle adopte une perspective critique par rapport à ce motif du passé en suggérant des parallèles avec le regard d’aujourd’hui porté sur les femmes. Ces trucages illusoires autrefois fréquents chez les magiciens – qui effaçaient la présence d’une femme sur scène en la recouvrant d’un textile ou d’un tapis – impliquent des considérations d’une forte teneur symbolique, voire politique. Pour Niederstrass, ce geste évoque l’invisibilisation d’une présence inopportune que l’on aurait cherché à écarter. L’artiste suggère même un rapport de correspondance iconographique avec une autre tendance de l’ère victorienne : celle des photographies aux mères cachées, des portraits d’enfants soutenus dans la pose par leur mère qui, elle, se dissimulait derrière des draps laissant néanmoins deviner sa silhouette.

Niederstrass présente une nouvelle série réalisée lors d’une résidence à VU. Dans une mise en scène aux accents lugubres, l’artiste allie photographie au sculptural dans diverses déclinaisons formelles faisant allusion aux scènes d’escamotage prisées par les magiciens. Fragmentaires et énigmatiques, les images ténébreuses suggèrent la présence de formes corporelles sous les plis du textile. Ces variations sur le motif invitent à réfléchir à l’insidieuse violence inhérente aux mécanismes d’invisibilisation et de déshumanisation du corps féminin.

Ce corpus fût présenté en codiffusion avec VU – Centre de diffusion et de production de la photographie, du 19 février au 24 avril 2022 dans le cadre de la Manif d’art 10 : La biennale de Québec. Sous le thème Les illusions sont réelles, le commissaire invité Steven Matijcio, directeur du Blaffer Art Museum de Houston au Texas questionne la relation entre l’art et ses mirages. Manif d’art 10 – La biennale de Québec est réalisée en collaboration avec le Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec.

Crédit photo : Charles-Frédéric Ouellet, Vincent Drouin et Marc-Antoine Hallé

Sans titre (Hommage à l’assistante de Bautier de Kolta)
Tapis, chaise, voile, dispositif en acier, socle, 147 L x 148,5 H x 208 P cm (2022)
Sans titre (Dissimulée), Impression jet d’encre sur papier Hahnemühle, 81 x 109 cm (2021)
Série complète : Sans titre (disparition 1 à 7), Impression jet d’encre sur papier Hahnemühle, 122 x 91.5 cm (2021)
Sans titre (Lévitation d’une Dame), Hydrostone, fil transparent, carte à jouer, peinture latex noire, 38 L x 46 H x 38 P cm (2022)
Sans titre (L’envers de la pyramide), Impression jet d’encre sur papier Hahnemühle, 114 x 86 cm (2021)